Markets & rules

Plug-in Solar in the US: State Laws and UL 3700

Ten US states have passed plug-in solar laws, most capped at 1,200 W. What each requires, when it takes effect, and what UL 3700 means for products.

By the end of October 2026, ten US states had signed plug-in solar laws. Six of them are already in force, and four take effect in 2027. There is no federal framework, and each law is written differently: most allow up to 1,200 W through an outlet without a utility interconnection agreement, but they differ on certification, notice to the utility, landlords and batteries. On the product side, the new safety benchmark is UL 3700, an Outline of Investigation first published in December 2025. Only a handful of products have announced certification to it so far.

Why the US needs state laws

In most US states, anything that generates electricity in parallel with the grid needs an interconnection agreement with the utility, usually with an application, a review and sometimes a fee. A small kit that plugs into an outlet does not fit that process. The new state laws carve out these small devices: below a power limit, and if the device is certified by a nationally recognised testing laboratory (NRTL), the utility may not require prior approval, charge a fee or demand extra equipment.

The National Electrical Code (NEC) has not caught up. UL Solutions states that the 2026 NEC, like all previous editions, does not recognise plug-in PV. A set of proposed Tentative Interim Amendments to the NEC, which would add a definition of a plug-in PV system and rules for cord- and plug-connected power sources, was open for public comment until 20 November 2026. They are proposals, not adopted rules.

The ten states with a law

StateLawIn forceOutput limitCertification in the textNotice to utility
UtahHB 340 (2025)Yes, since May 20251,200 W, standard 120 V outletUL or equivalent NRTL, and NECNot required
MaineLD 1730 (2026)Yes, since July 2026420 W self-installed; 420–1,200 W by a licensed electrician on a dedicated circuitUL 3700 or comparable NRTL standardAbove 420 W, within 30 days
ColoradoHB26-1007Yes, since August 2026; HOA and sales rules from 1 Jan 20271,920 W, one device per wall outletListed by an NRTL; from 2027, devices above 391 W must be listed to be soldUtility may ask for it
MarylandHB 1532 (2026)Yes, since July 20261,200 W, standard outlet, one per meterUL or equivalent NRTLBefore installation
ConnecticutHB 5340, PA 26-127Yes, since 1 Oct 20261,200 W, 120 V outlet, one per meterUL or equivalent NRTL, plus UL 1741, IEEE 1547 and NECNot required
VermontS.202, Act 149Yes, since July 20261,200 W per meterReported: UL 3700 and IEEE 1547-2018Not reported
VirginiaHB 395 (2026)1 Jan 20271,200 W per customerNRTL, and NECBefore installation, on a state form
New HampshireSB 540 (2026)1 Jan 20271,200 W, one per customerNRTL, to national safety standardsUtility may ask for it
CaliforniaSB 868 (2026)1 Jan 20271,200 W per dwellingReported: UL or equivalent laboratoryNot reported
New JerseyS2368 (2026)About 1 Mar 20271,200 WReported: UL 3700Not reported

For Vermont, California and New Jersey, the details come from news reports and official press releases, as we could not read the enacted text.

Points that matter in practice:

  • "Passed" is not "in force". Virginia, New Hampshire, California and New Jersey have signed laws that do not apply yet. New York's SUNNY Act passed both chambers in May 2026 but, as of late October, had not been signed.
  • The limit is not always 1,200 W. Colorado allows up to 1,920 W. Maine allows self-installation only up to 420 W; larger systems up to 1,200 W need a licensed electrician and a dedicated circuit.
  • Most laws say "NRTL", not "UL 3700". Only some of the laws name UL 3700 directly (Maine; Vermont and New Jersey as reported). Others require certification by UL or an equivalent nationally recognised testing laboratory, and Connecticut names UL 1741. In practice, UL 3700 is becoming the benchmark that laboratories and regulators point to, but sellers should read the wording of each state's law.
  • Small-device exemptions. Virginia, Colorado and Maryland exempt devices of 391 W or less from listing rules that would otherwise require changes to the building wiring. New Jersey reportedly has a similar exemption at about 400 W.
  • Notice to the utility. Maryland and Virginia require notice before installation, and Maine above 420 W. Elsewhere it is not required, or the utility may ask for it.
  • Renters and HOAs. Rules vary widely. Colorado (from 2027) and New Jersey limit bans by homeowners' associations and landlords; Virginia limits bans by larger landlords but does not override HOA covenants; Vermont lets landlords set reasonable restrictions; several states say nothing.
  • Batteries. Maine is the only state whose law explicitly covers a plug-in battery system. The other texts we read define the device as photovoltaic and do not mention storage.
  • California's exemption is temporary. As reported, its exemption from interconnection rules ends on 1 January 2030 unless extended.

Bills are also moving in other states, including Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Pennsylvania, and a federal bill was introduced in October 2026. None of these was law at the time of writing.

What UL 3700 is

UL 3700 is the Outline of Investigation for Interactive Plug-In Photovoltaic Equipment and Systems, published by UL Standards & Engagement. The first edition appeared in December 2025, and UL Solutions launched its testing and certification programme on 8 January 2026. Other laboratories, including Intertek and CSA Group, also certify to it.

An Outline of Investigation is not yet a consensus ANSI standard. It is the document laboratories use to certify a new type of product while a full standard is developed. A bi-national ANSI/CAN/UL 3700 standard is in development, with no publication date announced.

According to UL Solutions, UL 3700 covers construction, performance and labelling, and addresses:

  • Connectors, including dedicated plug-in PV connectors and connector configurations designed for this use
  • Dedicated and non-dedicated circuits, and protection against overloading the circuit the device feeds into
  • Touch safety: no hazardous voltage on accessible contacts, for example on the prongs of an unplugged lead
  • GFCI protection and compatibility with ground-fault circuit interrupters in the home
  • Grid behaviour such as anti-islanding, by reference to UL 1741 and IEEE 1547

It can be applied to individual components, such as a microinverter, and to complete systems. Intertek lists integrated energy storage within plug-in PV equipment as in scope, with the battery parts also assessed to their own standards, such as UL 9540.

UL 3700 itself does not set a 1,200 W limit; the power limits come from the state laws.

From state law to the socket
  1. State lawsets the power limit and the rules for utilities, landlords and HOAs
  2. NRTL certificationUL 3700, UL 1741 or as the state requires
  3. Notice to the utilityonly where the state requires it
  4. Customer plugs inwithin the state's limit
The state law says what is allowed; certification by a nationally recognised testing laboratory is what lets a specific product qualify.

Which products are certified so far

By October 2026, three manufacturers had publicly announced UL 3700 certification or compliance:

ProductAnnouncedLaboratoryWhat it covers
APsystems EZ1July 2026CSA GroupMicroinverter
Hoymiles HiFlow ProJuly 2026Not namedMicroinverter (announced as "UL 3700-compliant")
Mango Power SSeptember 2026Intertek1,200 W plug-in kit (not clear whether the whole kit or the microinverter)

These are the manufacturers' own announcements. Before listing a product, check the exact model in the certifying laboratory's public directory. Other well-known plug-in products were still listed as pending in October 2026. Note also that some rules look at the complete system, not just the microinverter: New York's pending bill, for example, requires listing as a complete plug-in PV system.

What sellers and installers should check

  1. The state. Is the law signed, and is it in force on the date you sell or install? What is the output limit there?
  2. The certification. Which standard and which laboratory does the state's law name? Is the exact model (kit or microinverter) listed in that laboratory's directory, not only "pending" or "compliant"?
  3. The complete kit. If the state looks at the system, check that the combination you sell (panels, microinverter, lead, mounting) is what was certified.
  4. The electrical side. Does the product need a dedicated circuit or a specific connector? In Maine, does the size require a licensed electrician?
  5. Notice. Does the customer have to notify the utility before or after installation?
  6. The property. For renters and homes in an HOA, check what the state allows and get consent where needed.
  7. Batteries. Unless the state's law covers storage, as Maine's does, treat a battery as a separate system under the normal rules.

How VaySunic can help

VaySunic designs and manufactures microinverters, plug-in solar kits and home batteries for 230 V, 50 Hz markets such as Europe and the UK. We do not currently hold UL 3700 certification, and our products are not sold as plug-in devices in the US. A US product needs its own design (120 V, 60 Hz and US connectors) and its own certification. If you are planning a plug-in solar or storage range for the US, contact us to discuss our plans and timelines, or see our OEM and ODM programme.

Sources

All articles

Get in touch

Let’s plan your next project.

Distribution, installation or your own brand — tell us what you need and the right person will reply.